Skip to content

Every town has museums representing many different aspects of life in Iceland. The culture and way of life from past centuries is commemorated in historical museums showing artefacts of olden days, mostly relating to the traditional occupations of agriculture and fishing. Natural science museums focus on representative samples and noteworthy characteristics of Iceland´s geology, flora and fauna.

Local Museum
The Folk museum Byggðasafn Húnvetninga- og Strandamanna welcomes you! It was founded fifty years ago and contains a precious collection of rare objects displaying local history and culture.The museum is owned by local authorities in the Húnaflói area. On display are number of famous old boats and ships amongst them the famous shark ship Ófeigur from Ófeigsfjörður. Oil from the sharks was used to light up streetlamps in Europe before the age of electricity. We also show inside the museum the way Icelanders used to live by dispalying the liv¬ing arrangements inside an old house named Syðsti-Hvammur which used to be near Hvammstangi. Many more numerous spectacular pieces can be found inside the museum from the late nineteenth to the early twentieth century. New and exciting crafts from the local community will be on sale at the museum and restaurant on site. Admission: Adults ISK 1000, Open during summertime 09-17 request in winter time.
The Museum of Prophecies
The Museum of Prophecies Exhibition, storytelling and fortune telling.   The exhibition focuses on Þórdís the fortune-teller, the first named inhabitant of Skagaströnd, who lived there in the late 10th century. A painted tapestry tells the story of Þórdís. Guides lead visitors through the exhibition which features all kinds of interesting information about prophecies and fortune telling. Visitors can have their fortunes told and their palms read on request. Children can examine Þórdís’s gold chest, where various interesting things are hidden. We have a great range of Icelandic craft and design.   Opening hours:  June -  Sept. Tuesday – Sunday         13:00-18:00 Closed on Mondays.   Opening hours from Sept. – June  by arrangement, please contact us by phone. tel: 861 5089 / 452 2726 
Birds Museum Sigurgeir
Sigurgeir´s Bird Museum was opened on the 17th of August 2008. The goal of the Museum is to educate the visitors about birds, the biota in Lake Mývatn, and how people in the area used the lake for transport and to survive. In the Museum you can find almost all of the Icelandic nesting birds, plus about 100 of the eggs, and in a seperate exhibiton, tools that were used to fish in Lake Mývatn. Opening hours:12:00-17:00 every dayIf groups are traveling during other hours it is always possible to call us and check if we can open.
The Motorcycle Museum of Iceland
A brand new museum on the 100 year history of motorcycles in Iceland. Motorcycles from all over, objects and artifacts relating to the historyof motorcycles in Iceland in a stunning 800 square meter building, that was especially designed for the museum. Hours of Operation & Admission Hours of Operation: Sumar: June 1st - August 31st 10.00–17.00 Winter: Sep 1st - may 31st, Sat. 15.00–19.00 Other opening hours available for groups. Admission: Adult ISK 1.000, free entry for 15 years and younger  
The Icelandic Aviation Museum
The Icelandic Aviation Museum is located in a large hangar at Akureyri Airport. The museum covers Iceland's aviation history with photographs, videos, artefacts, models and historic aircrafts, which some are in airworthy condition and fly in the annual air show held by the museum in June.. The exhibition takes you back in time, as you explore the development of aircrafts and airlines from 1919 to the present, and are allowed to access the interior of few of the aircrafts. Opening hours:May: Saturdays and Sundays 11:00-16:001st of June-September 15th: Open daily 11:00-17:00September 16th to April 30th: Saturdays 13:00-16:00The museum is also open by appointment. Admission:Adults:                                       1500 ISKSeniors and students:             1000 ISKGroups of 10 or more:             1000 ISK per personFree admission for children younger than 18 accompanied by adults.
Húsavík Whale Museum
The Húsavík Whale Museum was founded in 1997.  It's foremost aim is to provide detailed and interesting information about whales and their habitat.In the 1.600m2 house you can find on display whale skeletons of several species and fascinating facts about the whales and life in the ocean. Opening hours: Open daily 9am - 6pm in June, July and August.
Natural History Museum in Ólafsfjörður
Pálshús, one of the oldest houses in Ólafsfjörður, is today a museum and a cultural centre, located at Strandgata 4 in Ólafsfjörður. The oldest part of the house was built in 1892. The house is named after Páli Bergssyni, one of the main instigators of the fishing enterprises in Ólafsfjörður and who, together with his wife Svanhildi Jörundsdóttur, finished building the house in the form we know today. Pálshús hosts the Natural Museum of Ólafsfjörður and a wonderful exhibition called "The Desire to Fly". This exhibition covers Icelandic bird flora and examines the human desire to fly. A great exhibition for children as it has a high educational value while being entertaining and fun. In addition, Pálshús hosts private collections and diverse music and/or art exhibitions. Opening hours:May 15 - September 15: daily 13.00-17.00  Admission 2021:Adults: ISK 1.500 Children 12 - 18 years: ISK 1000Senior citizens: ISK 1000Disabled: ISK 1000Free for children under 12 years.  
Sauðaneshús - The Old Vicarage Langanes
Sauðanes is an old church estate on Langanes peninsula, 7 kilometres north of the village of Þórshöfn.  It is believed that there has been a church in Sauðanes since the 12th century.  The church that now stands was built in 1889 and is currently being renovated.  The vicarage in Sauðanes, called Sauðaneshús, was built in 1879 from dolerite and is the oldest house made of stone in the north-east of Iceland.  The dolerite was moved to Sauðanes from afar and cut on site.  Rev. Vigfús Sigurðsson (1811-1889) oversaw the building of the house.  The builders were two brothers from Vopnafjörður; Sveinn Brynjólfsson and Björgólfur Brynjólfsson.  A large piece of driftwood, that washed ashore on Langanes, was used to make the doors in the house.  After Rev. Vigfús died, Arnljótur Ólafsson (1823-1904) became the vicar of Sauðanes.  He was a well-known politician and writer. Sauðaneshús was inhabited until 1955 when a new vicarage was built near the old one.  Sauðaneshús was under reconstruction from 1991 to 2003.  Today, it houses a folk museum, tourist information and a cafe.  The artefacts in the house provide insight into how locals lived a hundred years ago.  Sauðaneshús is owned by the Icelandic National Museum and run by the local cultural centre.  The house is open to tourists during summer. Open from 15th of June to 15th of August. Closed on Mondays. More info: http://www.husmus.is/index.php?lang=en
The Icelandic Herring Era Museum
The Herring Era Museum is Iceland’s largest maritime and industrial museum, where visitors have the opportunity to get to know the herring fishery and processing industry that underpinned Iceland’s economy for much of the twentieth century. Three very different museum buildings provide visitors with an insight into the magnificent and captivating herring industry. The Róaldsbrakki is a Norwegian herring station dating back to 1907. Most of this building is as it was in the past, when herring girls lived in the building throughout the summer. Grána is an example of a small herring factory of the 1930s and visitors can see the workings of the reduction industry, which has long been seen as Iceland’s first major industry. The Boathouse seeks to recreate a portion of a herring port, with the fleet alongside one evening in 1950 and allows visitors to mull over what it must have been like to walk the quaysides around the middle of the last century. More information: www.sild.is/en Opening hours: May and September: 13 – 17 June, July, August: 10 – 18 Winter: By arrangement Siglufjörður is only and hour drive from Akureyri!
Húsavík Museum
On the main floor of the Culture House in Húsavík the new exhibition Man and Nature - 100 years in Þingeyjarsýsla, aims to provide insight into man´s relationship with nature in this region in the period 18250-1950, and the subsistence farming that was practised at that time, so that each farmstead was largely self-sufficient. The maritime is on the Ground floor.  It opened in 2002, in a new pyramidal unit. The exhibition includes a large number of boats, many of them built in Húsavík, as well as Hrafninn (the Raven), a gift from Norway to the community of Húsavík to mark the 1100th anniversary of the settlement of Iceland in 1974. The exhibition also includes a wide variety of fishing gear, equipment and tools whcich were used in the fisheries, as well as in seal-hunting and shark-fishing. Films can be viewed.
Glaumbær in Skagafjörður
Discover what life was like Glaumbær – the historic turf farm in Skagafjörður The old turf buildings at Glaumbær are a fine example of building construction on the larger farms in Iceland in times past. See the household of bygone era in their natural setting. In the farmhouse are bedrooms, living room, kitchen, pantry, storage rooms and smithy. The living room is most recent, dating from the 1879. The sagas relate that Snorri Þorfinnson, son of Þorfinnur karlsefni and Guðríður Þorbjarnardóttir farmed at Glaumbær in 11th Century. He was born in the wilds of Vin-land, the first child born to European parents in the New World. He built the first church at Glaumbær. There are two old timber houses near Glaumbær, also open for visitors. Gilsstofa is a reception house from 1849. It was reconstructed at Glaumbær in 1997. In Áshús, built 1883 -1886, are exhibitions and Tea room. If you fancy a pancake and hot chocolate in a cozy old tearoom, you should visit Áshús. Openin hours:May 20 - September 20: daily 10:00 - 18:00September 21 - October 20: weekdays 10:00 - 16:00October 21 - March 31: by appointment April1 - May 19: weekdays 10:00 - 16:00 Admisson fee:Adults (18 years and older): ISK 1.700Groups (6+), students, senior citizens, disabled: ISK 1.500Children (17 and younger): free Combo-tickets for Glaumbær and Víðimýri Church : Adults (18 years and older): ISK 2.000Groups (6+), students, senior citizens, disabled: ISK 1.700Children (17 and younger): free 
Icelandic Horse Farm Lýtingsstaðir
Our holiday and horse-breeding farm Lýtingsstaðir, is situated in the North of Iceland in Skagafjörður. Just 20km away from road#1 you will find our peaceful farm where we share our home with the Icelandic horse.Whether you want to spend a whole day riding or just 2 hours, we have flexible options to suit you.We offer shorter and longer riding tours and treks, riding holidays on the farm and horse rental for a short visit, suiting beginners and experienced riders.Find our options and detailed information about tours and treks on our website.We have three wooden cottages for self-catering to rent.In each of our cozy cottages you will find a well-equipped kitchen, en-suite, TV with DVD player, deck furniture and a coal BBQ. Each cottage is ideal for a family and can fit up to 5/6 people.You´ll be at the heart of Iceland´s nature; take a ride or walk, watch horses, sheep and other animals. Relax to the sound of the horses hoof and explore the valleys and breathtaking mountains.Lýtingsstaðir is a fully licensed riding holiday company, operating since the year 2000, welcoming you with a warn hospitality and a personal atmosphere. The Old Stable Inspired by the long history of the farm, a horse stable and a storage room were built in 2015. The two gabled houses combine turf, stones and wood, and they are masterpieces of traditional, even if nowadays very rare, Icelandic craftsmanship. We want to tell visitors how horses were kept on farms in the old days, and we have a display featuring old tools, tack and other items connected with horses and farming.Opening timeThe stable is open daily from May to September, other times of year on request. Entrance fee for adults, free entry for children under 12.Horses&HeritageStep inside the OLD STABLE and make even more of our popular presentation of Horses & Heritage! The program runs every Tuesday evening in the summer, on request all year round for groups and as a guided day tour from Akureyri, see www.ttv.is Please contact for prices and booking information.
The Icelandic Horse History Centre
The Icelandic Horse History Centre was founded it 2001 at Hólar in Hjaltadalur is located in the old stable at Hólar, built in 1931. The old stable was remodeled in 2010 and The Exhibition of the Icelandic Horse opened. In addition, two special exhibitions can be found at The Icelandic Horse History Centre. On the one hand, The Origin of the Traits of the Icelandic Horse, the breeding horses introduced at this exhibition have all had a great impact on Icelandic horse breeding from the beginning of organized breeding up to the present day. Another one is the exhibition Splendid Saddlery from Past Centuries, disclosing interesting information about saddlery in the past centuries.   Summer Opening Hours: June – August Monday: Closed Tuesday – Sunday: 10 am – 18 pm Winter Opening Hours: The exhibitions at the Icelandic Horse History Centre are open for groups during winter, in accordance with previous reservations. For those interested, please contact the curator, Kristinn Hugason, tel. +354 891 9879, email: sogusetrid@gmail.com.
Gamli bærinn Laufási
Laufás is a renowned church site and chieftain‘s residence from the settlement (874-930). Laufás church was built in 1865, among its special items is a pulpit from 1698. The current farmhouse is a good example of a wealthy vicarage from 1853-1882 furnished with household items and utensils from the period. One of Laufás´ s characteristics is the bride´s chamber where women prepared for the big event. At the Visitor Centre you will find plenty of information about nature and history of the countryside, a handcraft and souvenir shop and a café in a cosy atmosphere. Laufás is part of The National Museum‘s Historic Buildings Collection and managed by Akureyri Museum. Open: June 1 - September 1: Daily 10-17 Price: Adults (18 and older): ISK 1800 Children and youth: Free Senior citizens ISK 900 Handicapped: Free Pass for 5 museums: ISK 2200
The Transportation Museum at Ystafell
The transportation museum at Ystafell was established by Ingólfur Kristjánsson and Kristbjörg Jónsdóttir in 1998. The museum is the oldest of its kind in Iceland. Its main role is to preserve and show various ways and means of transportation and present to the public interesting facts on the subject. Ingólfur collected spare parts, machinery and cars of all kinds for half a century. The Transportation Museum is the result of his efforts and dedication. Hours of Operation: May 15th ­- September 30th Daily 10.00 -­ 20.00 Admission: Free entry for children 11 years and younger 
Holt - Memorial Museum of Alda Halldórsdóttir
Holt - Memorial Museum of Alda Halldórsdóttir.This was the home where Alda Halldórsdóttir was born in 1913 and lived and grew up with her mother and uncle. The house along with its interiors, shows in a unique way a typical working-class home of that era where the new and the old meet. There you can also find a variety of handicrafts and embroidery by Alda, along with old photographs of her friends and relatives. Alda bequeathed "Holt" to the Hrisey community after her death, in order for it to be used as a memorial of times gone by.Information at hrisey@hrisey.net
Víðimýri Church
Víðimýrarkirkja Church is one of the few preserved turf churches in Iceland. At the beginning of the 20th century its fate was uncertain, but thankfully the immense cultural value of the building was recognized in time, and the National Museum of Iceland became responsible for its renovation. The church was built in 1834 and has turf walls, but timber gables both back and front. Opening hours:1. June – 31. August: Tuesdays - Sundays 12:00 – 18.00, closed on Mondays.  Admission for 2021:Adults (18+): ISK 1000 Groups (6+), students, seniors and disabled: ISK 700Children (17 and younger): free Combo-ticket for Víðimýri Church and Glaumbær :Adults (18+): ISK 2000Groups (6+), students, seniors and disabled: ISK 1.700Children (17 and younger): free 
Árnes Museum
Árnes is the oldest house in Skagaströnd, and the only one of its kind in the area that was considered possible to preserve. It was renovated by the municipality and opened in 2009. Árnes is a unique example of living conditions in the first part of the 20th century, and is a typical timber dwelling from that period. The house is furnished with items from those bygone days, some from the Skagaströnd Folk Museum, others which have been borrowed and even articles which belonged to the previous owner of the house. Every day, during the summer months, visitors to Árnes can have their fortunes told from cards, tea leaves, coffee cups or have their palms read.  
The Industrial Museum
The Industrial Museum is a small, homely, relaxing and interesting place where you can see machines, devices and products from the blooming industry in Akureyri, from the early 20th century until today. We also have displays from various private collections and also several examples of students final exam pieces from a variety of subjects. And an ever changing selection of items such as herring barrels, shoes, toys and variety of product packaging. In the 60's and 70's, this small town was self-sufficient in almost everything from food, cloth, construction, fisheries etc. The Industrial Museum is in constant development because the history of industry in Akureyri is ongoing. Opening hours: June 1 - September 14: Every day: 10:00-17:00 September 1 - May 31:Fridays - Sundays: 13:00-16:00Mondays to Thursdays: Closed
Davíðshús - Home of Davíð Stefánsson
The relatives of the poet Davíð Stefánsson from Fagriskógur bequeathed to Akureyri Municipality the house at 6 Bjarkarstígur which the poet built and lived in until his death in 1964. His living quarters are on the upper floor of the house, preserved in the same condition as when he lived in the house. This area contains the poet´s library, impressive in quality and number of volumes. On the lower floor is an apartment reserved for free use by artists and scholars on the sole condition that those who stay there are supposed to present in some form, here in Akureyri, the work they are engaged in within their field of artistic or scholarly expertise, in co-operation with the cultural representative of Akureyri Municipality on each occasion as is specified in the agreement on the use of the Davíð Stefánsson Museum. The cultural affairs committee of Akureyri Municipality is in charge of processing applications for the use of the apartment. Open from 1.6-31.8 - 900 krn entrance fee.  Mon-Fri. 13.00-17.00. 10-15 min. walking distance from the town center. With bus, take bus number 3 or 4 and go out on Þórunnarstræti/Hamarstígur.
Sverrir Hermannsson´s smallexhibits
1st June - 15th September is open every day 13:00-17:00 Also, open on request. Phone 354 898-5468  
The Textile Museum
The Textile Museum in Blönduós is the only specifically focused textile museum in Iceland. The museum is located in beautiful bulding with good visitor access. It hosts several unique and independent exhibitions of embroideries, Icelandic national costumes, the Halldóra room, which is dedicated to the life and work of Halldóra Bjarnadóttir (1873-1981), and a wool exhibition. Annually the museum hosts a special exhibition of Icelandic textile artists and designers. Opening hours Week days: Saturdays: Sundays: June 1st - August 31st: 10:00-17:00 10:00-17:00   10:00-17:00
Akureyri Museum
In the oldest part of Akureyri (known as the Inner town), stands the Akureyri Museum. Here we find many interesting and well set up exhibitions, which we have no hesitation in recommending for adults and children alike. Those with a thirst for knowledge, and who wish to find out about Akureyri in a more innovative way, we recommend a visit to the exhibition "Akureyri, the Town by the Pool”. Here you will find a trader’s store, a parlour, a playroom and numerous photographs capturing life in the town throughout the years – and all of which make up an enjoyable tour through Akureyri’s history as a centre of trade and industry. The remains of a burial mound containing boats, mediaeval trading goods, a warp-weighted loom and information on settlement in Eyjafjörður, are among the things of interest to be found on the top floor of the premises, in the exhibition "Eyjafjörður in the Early Period". Each year there is also a summer exhibition. Akureyri Museum has on offer historical walks for groups through the old part of town, the Oddeyri and/or Glerárþorp district, as well as soirées in the Museum Church where you are taken on a journey of prose and song into the world of Icelandic music, from the Middle Ages to the present day. The garden surrounding Akureyri Museum is more than a century old and makes a pleasant stopping place on your journey round town. Within the garden stands a church built in 1846, which is rented out for various kinds of ceremonies.  Open:June 1 - September 30: Daily 10-17October 1 - May 31: Daily 13-16 Price:Adults (18 and older): ISK 1800Children and youth: FreeSenior citizens ISK 900Handicapped: Free Pass for 5 museums: ISK 2200
Museum at Mánarbakki
The museum at Mánárbakki was opened on June 18th 1995 in a house named Thórshamar that was moved there from Húsavík. Recently, the museum was enlarged with a house named Lækjarbakki, built in a traditional Icelandic style, for all kinds of items that could not be fitted in at Thórshamar. The museum is open daily from June 10th to August 31st and by agreement at other times of the year. Opening hours: 10-18:00 every day
Hælið - The Great White Plague center
 HÆLIÐ the great White Plague center. A visual exhibition about loss, sorrow and despair but also about hope, serenity and lust for life. Opening hours:Summer: daily 12:00-18:00Winter: Saturdays and Sundays 14:00-18:00 
Skagafjörður Transportation Museum
The Vintage Auto Museum at Stóragerði in Skagafjörður formally opened in 2004. The museum has on exhibition around 100 vehicles; cars, buses, motorcycles, snowmobiles, agricultural machinery, and a lot of small knickknacks tied to the Icelandic transportation heritage. At least 250-300 vehicles and machinery in various condition are on dispay outside the museum, which intrigues the museum's guests. The museum was built by Gunnar Kr. Þórðarson and his wife, Sólveig Jónasdóttir. Gunnar had masters in Auto Mechanic and Sólveig is a primary school teacher. Gunnar always carried a passion for the transportation heritage and collected from a young age a large proportion of the showpieces. Gunnar also, througout the years, remodeled both vehicles and machinery with great success. But to ensure the best possible preservation of the showpieces of various sizes he had collected throughout the years, a warehouse had to be built, resulting in the opening of this magnificent museum for all to enjoy! It is worth mentioning that aftert he museum opened, a few of the guests have donated both cars and machines to the museum in near to impeccable condition, and generous gifts like that are completely priceless. Gunnar's brothers, Sigurmon Þórðarson from Hofsós and Páll Hólm Þórðarson from Kópavogur have throughout the years been very helpful with the remodeling of various objects and in collecting showpieces across the country. The official opening of the museum is during the summer months from June 1st through September 30th. Opening hours are daily from 11 am to 6 pm. Groups are welcomed by appointment during winter.
Akureyri Art Museum
Founded in 1993 Akureyri Art Museum is one of the youngest art museums in Iceland. It is located in what used to be the KEA co-op building, which was designed with strong influences from Bauhaus and the international Funkis movement. The Museum’s two venues are located side by side in the heart of Akureyri, in Listagil (Art’s Street). Emphasis is on a variety of exhibitions and works of the highest artistic standard. In addition to older works, Akureyri Art Museum makes room for the best and the brightest new talent, both domestic and foreign. The aim is to support and promote visual arts in Akureyri as well as educate visitors in what art has to offer. Opening hours Week days: Saturdays: Sundays:   12:00-17:00 12:00-17:00 12:00-17:00 The museum is closed on Mondays.
Local Museum Hvoll
The museum’s collection comprises thousands of items. The natural history collection contains a large number of Icelandic birds and mammals, the most popular of which is the polar bear. There are exhibits on a number of people from the district who became nationally famous, such as Jóhann Pétursson, known as “the Giant”, and president Dr. Kristján Eldjárn. One room at the museum is dedicated to the earthquake that struck Dalvik in 1934 (6.2 on the Richter scale). Opening hours:June 1 – August 31: daily 10.00-17.00September 1 – May 31: Closed Also open for groups upon agreement (all year). Please contact bjork@dalvikurbyggd.is ,
Grenjaðarstaður - The old Farmhouse
Grenjaðarstaður is the site of a church, and also of one of the most famous turf farms in Iceland.  It was home to the chieftains of the past, and it is an enlightening experience to visit the farm and become acquainted with the lives of Iceland’s rich and famous in days gone by.
The House of Shark-Jörundur
Jörundur Jónsson, called Shark-Jörundur, built the house in 1885-86, using timber from Norwegian ships which ran ashore at Hrísey in 1884. In 1917 the house was moved down the hill, to its current site, but a statue of Shark-Jörundur commemorates the spot where the house was originally build. The house now holds an exhibition and items related to shark fishing as well as the history of the island. You will also find The Tourist Information Center in Hrísey there and a popular tractor-trailer tour ends in front of the house. Hours of Operation: Summer: Open daily 13:00 - 17:00 Winter: by appointment 
Nonnahús - Jón Sveinsson memorial museum
Nonni´s house was the childhood home of the writer and Jesuit priest Jón Sveinsson, "Nonni", who wrote books for children. Nonni´s house is among Akureyri´s oldest houses, built in 1850. Today it is a memorial museum were many items connected with Nonni and the Nonni books, in such diverse languages as Japanese  and Esperenato are kept. Books by Jón Sveinsson in several languages are sold in the museum. Open:June 1 - September 30: Daily 10-17October 1 - May 31: Daily 13-16 Price:Adults (18 and older): ISK 1800Children and youth: FreeSenior citizens ISK 900Handicapped: Free Pass for 5 museums: ISK 2200
Safnasafnið Museum
The Museum collects artworks by artists who have hitherto been seen as outside the cultural mainstream, often also called naïve or brut – artists who have a real and direct connection to an original creative spirit; true, unspoiled and free. The core collection consists today of about 140,000 artworks and sketches by over 300 artists, dating from the mid-19th century to the present. The Museum is located in North Iceland, on the eastern side of Eyjafjörður, just about 10 minutes’ drive from the town of Akureyri.  10 to 12 new exhibitions every year. Appartment to rent Opening hours: 10.oo - 17oo daily. folkart@simnet.is Phone 461-4066
Fræðasetur um forystufé
The Leader Sheep Centre in Þistilfjörður North-Iceland is unique. It is impossible to find a similar museum as Iceland is the only country in the world where Leader Sheep exists. You find collections of pictures, stories, and information about the Leader Sheep. Besides information, we run a small shop with handmade goods produced from wool, horns, bones, and skins of the Leader Sheep. The Leader Sheep Center has received an award from the Farmers Association for use of wool, skins, and horns. "If you wear clothes made of wool of Leader Sheep then you always find your way.” We have a small Café where we serve a special blend of coffee and good cakes. One art exhibition is here every summer in our small gallery and is booked next consecutive 10 years. We run small and cozy guesthouse, THISTLE GUESTHOUSE, with 12 beds. There is a kitchen available and all the other needed facilities. Open from 11am to 6pm, July-Agust and by appointment in other months.
Grenivík Fishing Museum
Open from 1st of June to 31st of August, every day from 1 pm-5 pm.The Fishing Museum is in the old baiting shed, called Hlíðarendi.The shed was built in 1920. In the first year, the house was used as a shipyard, where Sigfús Þorsteinsson built his boat called Hermann. The boat is now owned by the museum. Mostly, the building was used as a baiting shed. The last decade in operation Hlíðarendi was mainly used as a repository for various types of fishing equipment. The museum is open seven days a week from June 15 to 31.August at. 13:00 to 17:00. Groups can order subject at other times.
N.-Þingeyjarsýsla Folk Museum
Located at Snartarstaðir farm, two kilometers from the village of Kópasker, this museum presents a unique collection of local objects showing dayli life in the 19th and 20th centuries. There is a wide array of embroidery, woven goods, knitted clothing and many other unique, interesting handicrafts.  In addition the museum contains a variety of quite different objects: toys, a firefighting chart, guns, wood carvings, blacksmith products and much, much more.Open from 15th of June to 15th of August. Closed on Tuesdays. More info: http://www.husmus.is/index.php?lang=en

Other (16)

Womens Collage Exhibition Árbraut 31 540 Blönduós 892-4928
Vatnsdæla on a tapestry Árbraut 31 540 Blönduós 898-4290
Þingeyrar church Þingeyrum 541 Blönduós 895-4473
Safnahúsið - Museum Faxatorg 550 Sauðárkrókur 455-6050
Skagafjörður Heritage Museum Glaumbær 560 Varmahlíð 453-6173
Reynistaður Reynistaður 560 Varmahlíð 453-6173
The Old Warehouse Suðurbraut 565 Hofsós 530-2200
Samgöngusafnið í Stóragerði Stóragerði 565 Hofsós 845-7400
Chapel at Gröf Skagafjörður 566 Hofsós 453-8373
Into the Arctic - Norðurslóð Strandgata 53 600 Akureyri 588-9050
Old Toys on display in Friðbjarnarhus Aðalstræti 46 600 Akureyri 462-4162
Verksmiðjan á Hjalteyri Hjalteyri 601 Akureyri 461-1450
Hjalteyri Þelamerkurskóli 601 Akureyri 896-8412
Vikingland Moldhaugar 601 Akureyri 899-1072
Hraun in Öxnadalur Þelamerkurskóli 601 Akureyri 460 1750
Ólafsfjörður Nature Museum Aðalgata 14 625 Ólafsfjörður 466-2651